Life through a lens

My favourite shots of 2012

Before I started this post, I thought 2012 had been a relatively quiet year for me, but having reviewed it now, it’s actually been one of my busiest years in terms of getting images out, and advancing my career. For a start, I covered my first official wedding (plus another in an unofficial capacity) and my first conference. I also started expanding my horizons beyonds the club scene, which has been my speciality in the past.

2011 could be said to be my “coming out” in terms of club photography, particularly with my joint exhibition with Robin Burgess “John I’m Only Dancing”. In 2012, I concentrated less on clubs, mainly concentrating on my official gig of “Menergy”, and sometimes covering “Supermax”, but started covering other events, such as fashion shows like “Nightwalk” and the Merchant City Festival Fashion show, but also art events, and adding more street photography to the mix. Here, then, are my favourite shots of this year.

Clubs

Menergy was my main draw this year, mainly because of the extraordinary mix of people that it brought together. The club’s new venue, “Forbidden”, was well lit enough that I could shoot mostly in available light, and the lit dancefloor allowed for some amazingly colourful shots.

Image

Image

Image

Image

One of the more incredible moments was Lady Munter interrupting one night to announce the death of Witney Houston.Image

However, the best Menergy shot this year happened despite itself. The lighting should have made this all wrong, but it turned out so well, it became the official flyer image for the next month.

Image

The other club I covered this year, Supermax, was in less favourable lighting conditions, and could be quite steamy inside. However, this often leant it’s own atmosphere.

Image

Art Events

Strangely enough, although I was covering these happenings as events, I got some of my best portraits of 2012 from art openings.

Image

Image

Image

Fashion

I’d been covering “Nightwalk” before but 2012 was where I started getting increasing my fashion show coverage, including some shooting in some unusual places. (The living room of a hotel penthouse suite, a dungeon bar) Fashion shows often keep you on your toes, but unusual places also force you to get the best shot of what might be an unfavourable lighting situation.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Also, I’ve been involved in the odd fashion shot or two.

Image

However, my favourite fashion related shot of the year was actually a behind the scenes shoot of Nightwalk just before a powercut forced it to be cancelled for a month.

Image

Events

I’ve covered many events in both official and unofficial capacities. For example, early in January, I got this shot of legendary film director Bernard Tavernier at the Glasgow Film Festival.

Image

The same night, I got this shot of Simeon of trailblazing electro-pioneers Silver Apples at the end of a rather good concert.

Image

Jay Brannan, acoustic singer-songwriter.

Image

I didn’t have as much time to go into the Edinburgh Fringe this year, but the times I did were gold. There was so much going on the streets alone:

Image

Image

Sometimes events had knock-on effects. After covering Edinburgh Pride, I was on the train when a couple of drag queens from said event involved the train home to Glasgow in a sing-sing-song.

Image

Weddings

Image

And finally..

.. Here are a couple of my favourite photos taken in a completely random situation where I just happened to have my camera. It’s a cliche, but it pays to keep your camera with you at all times…

Image

Image

Image

Image

I hope you all have a lovely 2013!

One response

  1. Pingback: 2013 Through my Lens | Alephnaught's Eye

Leave a Reply

