Life through a lens

Searching for a Selfie

Searching for a Selfie//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

It’s been a very pleasant late October afternoon in Sitges. Not blazingly hot, but warm enough for us Northern Europeans. I’ve not been for a couple of years, but I always do a day out to Sitges whenever I go to Barcelona, and walk along the beachfront. In particular, I’m fascinated by the wavebreakers along the shore- pier-like structures composed of countless rocks arranged like hugh dry-stone walls against the Mediterranean, with a lonely wind-indicator flag at the en end of each.

So, having walked along the beach, here I am walking barefoot along to th end of this one. (Think along the lines of: the world’s longest stepping stones.) and there’s a couple at the flag. I walk by them to the end of the wave-breaker, and sit out on edge, my legs out towards the Mediterranean, and chill out in the early evening sun.

Out of the corner of my eye, I see they’re taking selfies of themselves to the background of Sitges old town (90 degress clockwise to this shot.). By the time I’ve chilled out, and started making my way back to shore, they’re still taking selfies.

Leave a Reply

